Mary-Margaret Bierbaum, Attorney at Law
CERTIFIED SPECIALIST IN CRIMINAL DEFENSE

Criminal Info

DUI Arrest

If you live, work or have been arrested in the Santa Cruz, Monterey, or Santa Clara area and you have been charged with a DUI, it is highly advisable that you speak with the Law Offices of Mary-Margaret Bierbaum as soon as possible. Mary-Margaret Bierbaum can handle your DUI case both in court and at the DMV hearing for license suspension. With more than 30 years of legal experience handling criminal cases, she can undertake your DUI case. Her office is available to help clients throughout the county of Santa Cruz, as well as Santa Clara and Monterey counties.

You only have 10 days from the date of your DUI arrest to contact the DMV for a hearing regarding your license suspension. Please refer to the DMV Administrative Penalties section of this website for further information and forms regarding DMV Administrative Hearings.

Being charged with a DUI is a serious matter in California. You may be charged with driving under the influence and driving with 0.08 percent blood alcohol, driving under the influence causing injury, vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated, evading the police and misdemeanor or felony hit and run. In addition you may be charged with driving on a suspended license and without insurance. You may be subjected to harsh penalties if you are convicted, more especially so if there has been property damage or injury to other persons. The results of a drunk driving conviction may include jail time, fines, vehicle impoundment, driver's license suspension, probation, and court-ordered drug or alcohol counseling. If you have prior convictions, you are subject to more severe charges and sentencing.

If convicted of a DUI, you will have a criminal record which may adversely affect your life and future. Because of the serious consequences following a DUI conviction, it is vital that you work with the Law Offices of Mary-Margaret Bierbaum.

DUI With Injury:

If you or someone you know has been involved in a DUI accident involving alcohol or drugs, it is vitally important that you contact the Law Offices of Mary-Margaret Bierbaum as soon as possible. If you were driving under the influence and you injured someone else, you will likely be charged with DUI with injury under the California Vehicle Code. This is a serious offense and you will need experienced and aggressive representation, which DUI defense attorney Mary-Margaret Bierbaum can provide.

With more than 30 years of legal and courtroom experience both as a prosecutor and defense attorney, Mary-Margaret Bierbaum has the in-depth knowledge and skills necessary to represent you. As a DUI defense lawyer, she is available to represent clients throughout Santa Cruz County as well as Santa Clara County and Monterey County.

A DUI with injury case may be prosecuted as either a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the circumstances surrounding the incident and your past criminal history. The prosecutor must prove that you drove while under the influence or with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 percent or higher, that while doing so you broke a law or were otherwise negligent in your driving, and that this resulted in the injury of another person. If you were driving under the influence of drugs, these may be illegal drugs, prescription drugs, and even over-the-counter drugs. Any drug that impairs your driving ability qualifies.

Because of the serious consequences that may ensue from this offense, it is in your best interests to retain the services of a qualified criminal defense attorney. The Law Offices of Mary-Margaret Bierbaum urges you to contact her for a consultation about your DUI with injury charges without delay.

If you've been arrested for Driving Under the Influence, check out this helpful list:

Top Ten Things to Know & Do Within 10 Days of Your Drunk Driving Arrest

Please note that you must contact the DMV within 10 days of your arrest and request 2 things:

  1. An "In-Person Admin Per Se Hearing" (use this form) and;
  2. A "Stay" on the automatic suspension of your driver license.

Failure to make these requests within 10 days will result in your driver's license being automatically suspended for at least 6 months.

The pink temporary license that the officer gave you should explain the above and have the appropriate DMV contact phone numbers.


Disclaimer

This web page is not intended to provide legal advice. Please be aware that statutes and the courts' interpretation of them change over time.

An attorney-client relationship cannot be established with Mary-Margaret Bierbaum simply by reading this website; that can be done only by contacting Ms. Bierbaum and by mutually agreeing on such a relationship. You may use email to contact Ms. Bierbaum or her assistants, but do not email any confidential material or information before an attorney-client relationship has been established.


Home   |   Mediation   |   Dissolution Tips   |   Bio   |   Criminal Info   |   Testimonials   |   Location   |   Contact   |   Links